RSS Feed

You Are What You Eat

About a month ago my guy and I watched a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. I had heard about it from a friend, and thought it might be good for us to learn more about the relationship between food and health. It was a very interesting film that convicted us to start to take in more fruits and vegetables to improve our current and future health.

The suggested number of servings for fruits and vegetables is 9 to 13 per day, we weren’t hitting that area very often, so we bought a juicer and started putting whatever we could find through it. I’ve never been a juice drinker, so I was very skeptical, but was pleasantly surprised to find that I liked the taste of fresh fruits and vegetables in this state.  We have actually enjoyed trying different combinations, and are feeling the effects of consuming raw nutrients in place of empty calories.

I am not suggesting that anyone should start juicing, this is something that is working for us. I am convinced however, that this is one of the best ways that I can love myself, by intentionally deciding what I consume and choosing to proactively take care of myself.

http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/what-should-you-eat/vegetables-full-story/

http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/

5 responses »

  1. Hi, Becky!
    I saw this movie last year. I am currently doing a 45-60 day juice fast. I did an 18 day juice fast a few months ago. It’s not for everyone, but for me, I feel really good when I fuel my body with these nutrients. I have a lot of food allergies and when I avoid processed foods, I feel much better. You would probably enjoy the movie Forks Over Knives. The Doctors provide scientific information on the benefits of plant based diets. The information is given in a very objective way and makes a lot of sense. Happy Juicing!

    Reply
    • 45-60 day fast? Wow, just like in the documentary! So far I am using juicing to replace 1.5 – 2 meals per day and am seeing that my sugar cravings have diminished, almost completely. My biggest complaint is my lack of energy in working out if I wait too long after juicing. Got any advice?

      Reply
  2. I am going to check out this movie. I definitely know I could be healthier. For my baby girl, I make her baby food which takes dedication (lol). But I love she is already eating food without added flavor, color or preservatives.

    Reply
    • howsyourlovelife

      Be warned, it is convicting! I’ve heard of another called Forks Over Knives that educates on the importance of a healthy diet, but haven’t seen it yet. Good job feeding your baby fresh, I did the same thing without feeding myself the same way for years! Now I am trying to make up for it, and getting us all on the same page. I would love to hear what you think of the documentary!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

