RSS Feed

Embrace the Chaos

The last of the holiday visitors left about an hour ago. Seven visits in the last six weeks. So many special people sitting at our table, eating with us, sharing where they are now and where they have been. All slept here for some amount of time, and joined us in whatever we were doing. There was a lot of cooking and cleaning and the amount of laundry was sometimes overwhelming, but so was the laughter and the deep feeling of connection.

Suddenly, having only five people in the house will feel inadequate. And peaceful.

Now my house is quiet. Exceptionally still. It’s even starting to snow outside, which adds another layer of calm.  And I am reminded that someday this will be the norm. In a few years we will have quick bursts of chaos and noise, followed by extended periods of peace and quiet. Just like these last several weeks, I want to enjoy the craziness while I’ve got it under my roof.

Lord, help me to relish every minute of cooking, cleaning, arguing, driving, laundry, counseling, snuggling and sharing that comes with living as a close family. Thank you for the change in perspective….again.

9 responses »

  1. I have trouble loving the chaos. I guess I need to just relax more and if things aren’t perftect, not stress out over them. Having a 11 week old son has made life great, but a little crazy. It seems like I can’t get anything done and due to blow-outs & baby throw -up, there is always a lot of laudry. I guess I need to just relax and enjoy the wonderful moments with my son and just get everything else done one step at a time. Thanks for making this point! I need to work on loving the chaos. Before my son there was less chaos, but I am so blessed to have my wonderful son.

    Reply
    • I feel your pain – and your joy! We had three kiddos in 3.5 years. Chaos has eaten us for dinner a few times over the years! My best advice to any new mom is exactly what the grandma in the grocery store has probably already said to you – enjoy it while you have it, the time goes by so quickly! Blessings to your new family, and thanks for sharing your rare time with me!

      Reply
  2. Wow, you’ve been busy. We did a lot of travelling for Thanksgiving, and left the kids at Grandmas’ for a few extra days. I still have my 2yr old though, no one wants to stay up all night with her yet. …maybe next year.

    Reply
  3. I made my family the deal of a lifetime this year: if they would help me buy everything, I would do the cooking. They jumped at the chance! Now, after getting all the dishes done and the house picked up, I know what you mean. I earnestly pray for little ones to grace our home someday. I thrive off of chaos. When the house is too quiet, I go nuts!

    Reply
  4. Oh to take this truth and APPLY IT! I hear it… but in the middle of life, I struggle to live it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

