RSS Feed

I Will Wait

Some dear friends were visiting last week and after a short time together asked the question, “So, what now? Are you going to work, get more involved in ministry, finish your Master’s…?” It was a fair question, these friends know that I don’t sit, and waiting is not my strong suit. We sat in silence for a few seconds; I had to fight the urge to rush in with a litany of ideas and plans. Finally, I shrugged my shoulders.

The truth is that I don’t have an answer, and I think I’m not supposed to right now. I am in a season of waiting and listening. Honestly I thrive on noise and chaos and the unknown, preferring to live in the realm of possibility over reality….but that’s not where I am today, or this year. I will be the first to say there is nothing glamorous about waiting, but it feels right.

But I’ll kneel down,
Wait for now
And I’ll kneel down,
Know my ground

And I will wait, I will wait for you
And I will wait, I will wait for you.

10 responses »

  1. waiting is very hard for me too. I’m a ‘go go go’ person. I’m learning that there has to be seasons of rest or I just get burnt out. It’s been hard but also rewarding as I’m able to stop and see the prayers that have been answered and give thanks for them verses running past them yelling thank you over my shoulder.

    Reply
    • I think viewing life as a series of seasons is key – we are constantly moving through, or away from, something as we move forward into the next thing. A friend gave me a pillow years ago that simple says, To everything there is a season….it is kept in our family room and probably picked up and moved every single day because it’s a truth I want us all to get. Especially me!

      Reply
  2. Waiting is far better than rushing headlong into something that will require revision or excision latter on. You are blessed to have discovered that now. Rest in the Lord and wait. He is not slow in keeping His promises. Be encouraged. He is already attending to your needs.

    Reply
  3. Okay, I have a hard time remembering lyrics, but Francesca B has a song that says ” I don’t know how the story ends but I know it’ll be alright because you wrote it…You’re keeping me guessing.” Be still..and wait, and know He is God! Enjoyed this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

