RSS Feed

Depth Perception

depthFor as long as I can remember, I have struggled with judging distance, it’s tough determining the speed in which an object is moving toward or away from me. Estimating amounts is another area that is difficult, I tend to try to fit way too much soup into a tiny container or choose a large one for a few bites of food. Our refrigerator can look pretty ridiculous sometimes.

I’ve been told that I have little to no depth perception, but how can that be? Who has that along with 20/20 vision? Anyway, it’s usually not a big deal, but every now and then it matters. Mostly it just makes me look like a ditz. So, when I know that I have a profound lack of judgment spatially, why would I ever rely on it? When I’m cleaning up after dinner, I try to get the opinion of others as to whether or not the leftovers are going to fit into the container I’ve chosen, but honestly I don’t enjoy having others know about this flaw.

And yet, I find myself judging people so often. Based on a short conversation or something that was said, something that wasn’t said, an action that I saw or heard about. Who am I to think that I can assess a person’s character, motives and heart condition based on what I see? Why do we feel the need to judge? To make ourselves feel better about where we are and what we’re doing.

I’d like to cut the critical/judgmental part out of me and leave those assumptions to God, He’s got an accurate reading on each of us. Depth perception isn’t a struggle for Him.

The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart. 1 Samuel 16:7

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I have a terrible memory. It’s kind of a blessing for blogging though because I’ll forget what I’ve written about and write about it again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

