RSS Feed

Castaway

wilsonA couple of nights ago we watched a classic movie, Castaway with Tom Hanks. I had seen it in the movie theater 15 years ago, and our kids love Tom Hanks, so we had to watch it together. I warned them beforehand that although the effects had been stunning back in the day, they may seem silly now, but I was delighted to see that the plane crash was still so realistic. I also told them about the toothache, and how it was taken care of, before the movie started, and they were still completely grossed out by it just like I had been. I try not to build up old movies to my teens because they are often so disappointed to see that memories have a way of changing the value of something, and I was pleased that they enjoyed it as much as I did.

In the movie, the main character Chuck is stranded and completely alone. It’s amazing to me that a movie involving very few characters and words would be as successful as this one. Chuck has one picture of his love, Kelly, that he cherishes, and he makes a friend out of Wilson, a volleyball. These two artifacts help keep the man alive for more than four years. When we talked about it afterward, my son made the comment,”Well, people need only a few things to stay alive for a long time – food and water, community and hope.

This is so true. Food and water are readily available to us in this society, but community is something that must be worked for; it takes time and intentionality to establish true community. And what about hope? It looks different, depending on what is important to people. You can place hope in your career, your health, another person. But all of these things will disappoint. My hope is built on a foundation of Christ, and the bulk of my community is with like-minded individuals who help to make me stronger, and who I enjoy sharing food and water with!

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13

 

4 responses »

  1. Jennifer, How inciteful of your son to think of community and hope along with food and water. This is one of my favorite movies. Isn’t it funny that Chuck was all about TIME? In his job he was all about SPEED. Get deliveries out FASTER. Then he lost out of the chance to marry the love of his life, Kelly, because he couldn’t find TIME for her. Ultimately, after he was stranded he had nothing but TIME. And after he was rescued all he’d missed out on because he couldn’t find TIME.

    Lovely post. Thank you

    Reply
  2. That Coleman is a smart cookie. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

