RSS Feed

High Energy Bars

IMG_1579I found this recipe through a friend on Facebook, the original is from http://www.outsideonline.com/fitness/nutrition/Whitneys-Everything-Energy-Bars.html

I’ve made the bars a couple of times and have decided there’s no one way to do it, the original calls for 1 c cranberries and 1 c coconut added, but I want my family to eat them, so I refrained. Also the original says to use smooth peanut butter, with all those nuts and seeds I can’t help but add in some crunchy peanuts. These bars are high in fat, calories and protein so don’t eat a lot at once, but they are great for right after a workout or for high metabolism teens!

High Energy Bars

1 c sunflower seeds

1 c sesame seeds

1 c chopped pecans

1/2 c pumpkin seeds (pepitas)

1/2 c ground flaxseed

1 c rolled oats

1 c semi sweet mini chocolate chips (or carob)

2 c natural peanut butter (I use crunchy)

1 c honey

1 t salt

2t vanilla

Oven 350 degrees. Combine the first seven ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. Place the peanut butter, honey and salt in a saucepan and heat over low-medium heat until smooth. Remove from heat and add vanilla. Allow the mixture to cool slightly and pour over the nuts and seeds, stir until incorporated. Pour mixture into a 9×13 pan (for thick bars ) or an 11×14 pan (for thinner bars). Bake for 12-15 minutes. Cool completely and cut into bars.

5 responses »

  1. Sounds yummy-I have a great recipe for peanut butter balls and protein bars if you would like them.

    Reply
  2. I have a great organic energy drink to-gluten free, vegan.

    Reply
  3. I love using ground flaxseed to replace flour. I also use almond flour quite a bit. This recipe looks delicious, so much better than the granola bars on the store shelves.

    Reply
    • It does the trick for me. Two of my kids say they’re a little dry, I guess compared to the pre-packaged ones they are used to, they are dry but I prefer these anyday. Would love to know what you think when you try them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

