RSS Feed

Thorn in my Flesh

thornYesterday a friend called while my guy was taking a nap, so I went outside to talk to her for a few minutes so that he could sleep. While talking, I started pulling weeds in our backyard and stepped on a branch from the rose bush and a large thorn sunk deep into my heel. I gingerly pulled it out and went on with our conversation, surprised at how much my foot hurt. Within a few hours my heel was swollen and I was no longer able to put any weight on it. My guy kept offering to take a look at it, but I am stubborn, and insisted that it was no big deal. Fortunately, he ignores my attempts of bravado, and did some surgery on my foot, pulling out several small pieces of the thorn. The whole incident made me notice a couple of things.

1. I don’t like for anyone to see my when I am down. I prefer to go off by myself and hope that time will take care of it. Vanity.

2. I really don’t like to admit that I need help, even from my guy. Pride.

3. A tiny pin prick in the skin and a small thorn in the flesh can change both your walk and your attitude. Sin.

We all have thorns in our flesh, and these certainly aren’t all of mine, but the physical reminder was so obvious I had to pay attention. Last night I woke up with one of the worst headaches I have ever encountered. Normally I would suffer alone, but instead I alerted my guy and for the second time in just a couple of hours, I asked for his help. Both times he wasn’t just willing, he was glad to serve me. I have so much more to learn.

To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12: 7-9

photo: nefchronicles.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. This was the message on yesterday! The minister talked about how Paul consulted The Lord three times he also paralleled it to how Jesus asked for the cup to pass from Him. He talked about how it keeps you in your place and keep you from being boastful. I don’t like asking for help either I’m the nurse your own wounds kinda girl, but every now and again we have to fall in the arms of someone else to let them help us. If we didn’t have the thorns in our flesh would we consult or communicate with God…hope your foot is and head is okay…not that you aren’t okay in the head already 🙂 thanks again for your lovely message.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

